“Everybody blogs, nobody reads.”

sharingThe quote in the title of this post from this blog post got me thinking… How do we approach our consumption of information from blogs and Twitter? Is it more like “everyone shares, nobody reads”? How many people actually read – in a thoughtful way – the blogs they subscribe to and the tweets they retweet? Why are there so many more hits on a blog post than there are comments? Why don’t readers take the time to comment? Too much work? Too much time? Or they didn’t really read the post or follow the tweeted link?

Do we need to be more thoughtful consumers of information and use consumption as the entry way into deeper conversations? Or is “deeper” not even possible? Are we doomed to superficiality? 

Connect with Randy on Twitter.

 

13 comments on ““Everybody blogs, nobody reads.”

  1. I’m guilty as well! I think that is one of the ways we manage massive amounts of information to determine what is relevant to our practice. I also get a sense that there is a lot of mindless tweeting and retweeting going on with not much thought to extending the conversation. How do we before better at contributing to and deepening the conversation around blogs and tweets instead of just (mindlessly) repeating them.

  2. This post poses a very thoughtful question that inspires reflection! As a blogger myself, I know I definitely read more blogs than I write, but I get your point that it’s easier to RT and Like than actually comment. It’s good collegial practice to comment!

  3. Pingback: Diving more deeply: Time to get beyond the surface? | Working at the edge

  4. Pingback: Is there enough task-oriented “conflict” in online networks? | Working at the edge

  5. The variety of purpose between and within individuals make access a master key which allows each to open for a peek, step in for a better look, sit for coffee, or move in! I am like the others who commented before me-I read and reflect at varying depths, depending if I am passing it on purposefully to another, it resonates with my beliefs, or enlightens me? Thanks for your attention to attention 🙂

    • I agree, Mark. I see a lot of robo-tweeting going on…. As soon as someone posts to their blog it automatically gets tweeted. I know people who tell me they just don’t read it either…ever. There is a lot of that going on, I’m afraid. And I guess there is no harm, but I think it reinforces the idea of “surface” engagement. Thanks for leaving a comment.

  6. I subscribe using Feedly, browse over the titles, pics, and authors to see what catches my eye, read the ones that do, tweet out the ones I think will be helpful, and comment on the ones I think I can connect with (or provide an alternate option/thought, etc.). I’m commenting on this one, because I have the same questions, and thought you might want to see MY process. I notice, however, that you have not said what you do. 🙂 Mark Moran RTed this one, so I saw it in my feed, as he’s on one of the lists I create a column for on TweetDeck. SOOOOO many ways for blog posts to get around. Sooooo few comments for conversation. Here’s one for you – will one catch your eye enough for you to read? And then comment? geniushour.blogspot.com It’s tough to get comments, but I blog first for reflection. What about you? I love it when the conversation continues!

  7. I often wondered how people had the time to read so many blogs and articles, as well as listen to so many podcasts etc based on tweets but I bet you’re right and many are just doing so without purpose or even knowledge of what they’re putting out there. That is not very responsible, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

